Atlanta City Council member Andrea Boone hosting upcoming community events


ATLANTA — Join Council member Andrea Boone and Georgia State Senator Nikema Williams for a free movie screening of “Suppressed: The Fight to Vote” Tuesday, March 3 at 5:30 p.m. at the C.T. Martin Natatorium and Recreation Center, 3201 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive SW. The film tells the story of voters across Georgia and their experiences during the 2018 midterm election. The screening will be followed by an interactive voting unit demonstration for residents to learn more about the state’s new voting machines. Please RSVP for the event at
Boone will also host a Senior Health and Fitness Program Wednesday, March 4 from 9 a.m.–2 p.m. at the Old Adamsville Recreation Center, 3404 Delmar Lane NW. The event will feature bingo, health and wellness vendors, seated soul dancing, line dancing, chair exercises, jewelry making, an acapella chorus, and the Senior Sounds Choir. For more information about the program, call 404-505-3142.
“These events are a phenomenal way for us to come together, talk with our neighbors, and boost the overall community,” Boone said. “It feels great to come together to talk about the needs of the district and to connect residents with new learning opportunities and resources.”
About Atlanta City Council
The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.
The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Antonio Brown; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

About Post Author


From the Web

Skip to content
Verified by MonsterInsights