Atlanta will be the host of one of college football’s new playoff games to determine a national champion.

The college football playoff will replace the much-maligned Bowl Championship Series (BCS) and will be called simply “College Football Playoff.” The playoff games will begin in 2015, following the 2014 NCAA college football season.

“We decided to call the playoff what it is — the College Football Playoff,” BCS executive director Bill Hancock told the network’s Bretty McMurphy. “We think the new playoff will be the most dynamic improvement to college football in a generation. Certainly, it’s what the fans want. We also invite everyone to vote online to select the logo and help us kick off the new College Football Playoff.”

The Chick-fil-A Bowl, which has been played at Atlanta’s Georgia Dome, will join the Fiesta, Cotton, Rose, Sugar and Orange bowls in the six-bowl semi-final rotation for the new “College Football Playoff” that replaces the Bowl Championship Series (BCS), according to a report from ESPN.

Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas, will be the host of the College Football Playoff’s first national championship on Jan. 12, 2015.

The six sites will rotate in hosting the two playoff games every year. During the 12-year college football playoff contract, the semi-final games will be held at:

• Rose and Sugar bowls: Jan. 1, 2015; Jan. 1, 2018; Jan. 1, 2021; and Jan. 1, 2024.

• Orange and Cotton bowls: Jan. 1, 2016; Jan. 1, 2019; Jan. 1, 2022; and Jan. 1, 2025.

• Fiesta and Chick-fil-A bowls: Jan. 2, 2017; Jan. 1, 2020; Jan. 2, 2023; and Jan. 1, 2026.

Atlanta will also have a chance to host the national championship game in the future. This summer, the College Football Playoff will start accepting bids for the Jan. 11, 2016, and Jan. 9, 2017, championship games.

Also On Atlanta Daily World:
comments – Add Yours