Int’l Hall Of Fame Announces 2012 Inductees






By Special to the Daily World
Footsteps of nine new revered civil rights icons will be added to the International Civil Rights Walk of Fame during the 2012 Trumpet Awards events.  This induction ceremony is scheduled for Friday, Jan. 6, 2012, at 10 a.m. at the Martin Luther King, Jr. National Historic Site, National Park Service, located at 450 Auburn Ave. in Atlanta.  The program preceding the induction ceremony will be held at the Ebenezer Baptist Church. The ceremonial host for this year’s occasion is Frank Ski with WVEE FM (V-103) Radio. The program and unveiling of the footsteps are free and open to the public.

The 2012 honorees in this distinguished group include Rev. Willie Bolden and J.T. Johnson and the Civil Rights Foot Soldiers, Rev. Dr. E.T. Caviness, Dosan Ahn Chang Ho, Constance W. Curry, attorney Fred D. Gray, Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, Charles J. Ogletree Jr. and Dr. Walter F. Young.

The International Civil Rights Walk of Fame was created in 2004 to give recognition to the foot soldiers of justice who sacrificed and struggled to make equality a reality for all. This extraordinary display has become one of the most visited tourist attractions in the city of Atlanta and has enriched the heritage of the Civil Rights Movement.   The shoes used to create the footsteps will also be on display during the unveiling program.

The International Civil Rights Walk of Fame, now in its ninth year, is sponsored by the Trumpet Awards Foundation Inc., and was created and designed by Xernona Clayton, founder and executive producer of the legendary Trumpet Awards.  Clayton said, “This walk of fame tells a phenomenal story about the legacy of this nation. It is a permanent testimony to those who have dedicated themselves to progress of our people and to this nation. Many of the shoes we use in the display remain on exhibition within the Visitors Center for those who visit the King Complex.”

Honorees in 2011 included Arthur Blank, James Brown, The Rev.  Gerald Durley, Bishop Neil C. Ellis, Leon Hall, Bishop Barbara King,


From the Web