The MARTA Board of Directors elected officers for 2012 during its board meeting on Monday, Dec. 12. They include: Chairman, Frederick L. Daniels Jr. (DeKalb), executive vice president of Citizens Trust Bank; Vice Chair, Barbara Babbit Kaufman (Fulton), entrepreneur; Secretary, Juanita Jones Abernathy (Atlanta), former educator, retired sales director; Treasurer, Harold Buckley Sr. (DeKalb), owner/broker, Precision Realty.

Daniels emphasized the board’s commitment to leading MARTA as it works to meet transportation needs. “We are entering a critical time period in our existence, and we are committed to moving MARTA forward,” Daniels said.

“Our board is focused on confronting the transportation challenges that lie before our primary jurisdictions and contributing toward the new demands of the region. We are confident that our decisions will mark a turning point in MARTA’s history and transportation in Atlanta,” he said.

The MARTA board is composed of three representatives each from the City of Atlanta and Fulton County, four representatives from DeKalb County and the commissioner of the Georgia Department of Transportation. The executive director of the Georgia Regional Transportation Authority serves as the board’s sole non-voting member. Officers serve one-year terms.

Also On Atlanta Daily World:
comments – Add Yours