MARTA’s Board Elects Officers For 2011

By Special to the Daily World

The MARTA Board of Directors elected officers for the 2011 calendar year during a special Board meeting on Tuesday, Dec. 28, 2010.  They include: Chairman, Jim Durrett (DeKalb), executive director of Buckhead Community Improvement District; Vice Chair,  Barbara Babbit Kaufman (Fulton), entrepreneur; Secretary,  Juanita Jones Abernathy (Atlanta), former educator, retired sales director; and Treasurer,  Frederick L. Daniels Jr. (DeKalb), executive vice president of Citizens Trust Bank

After the Board unanimously approved the 2011 slate of officers, newly elected Durrett offered the following comments:

“We are at a tipping point in metro Atlanta when it comes to increasing our transportation options.  MARTA’s value to the region is becoming better understood by those responsible for crafting a new, larger regional transit framework, and we are committed to being not only partners, but also the most effective and efficient transit agency we can possibly be.”

The Board bylaws require that officers be elected by Dec. 31 of each year. Officers are elected for one-year terms.

The MARTA Board is responsible for setting policy and making decisions for the Authority ranging from finance to customer service.  As part of the Transportation Investment Act of 2010, the Board was downsized from 18 members to 11 voting members and one non-voting member.

The new board is composed of three representatives each from the City of Atlanta and Fulton County, four representatives from DeKalb County as well as the commissioner of the Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT).

The executive director of the Georgia Regional Transportation Authority (GRTA) serves as the board’s sole non-voting member.

MARTA’s new board will hold its first meeting on Monday, Jan. 10, 2011. The board includes seven returning members. They are: Juanita Jones Abernathy, Atlanta;  Harold Buckley Sr., Fred Daniels, and Jim Durrett, all of DeKalb; and  Barbara Babbit Kaufman of Fulton, and GDOT Commissioner Vance Smith Jr.  GRTA Executive Director Jannine Miller is a non-voting member.

Other members are Robbie Ashe, Rod Edmond of Atlanta; Wendy Butler, DeKalb, and Adam Orkin and Noni Ellison Southall, both of Fulton.

About Post Author


From the Web