The Falcons, the Georgia World Congress Center Authority and Levy Restaurants, along with Russell Athletic recently hosted the fifth annual Salute to High School Football Reception for GHSA-affiliated head football coaches.

The reception, held in the Owners Club of the Georgia Dome, provided an opportunity for coaches to mingle and offered opportunities to win several prizes.

With President & CEO, Rich McKay in attendance, Head Coach Mike Smith presented the 2012 Classification Coach of the Year Awards, the 2012 Warrick Dunn Captain in the Community of the Year and the Lifetime Achievement Award in between the first and second GHSA High School State Championship games.

The winners included:
• Class 1A – Jon Lindsey – Irwin County High School
• Class 2A – Lee Shaw – Rabun County High School
• Class 3A – Tim McFarlin – Blessed Trinity Catholic High School
• Class 4A – DeTimothy Floyd – Jonesboro High School
• Class 5A – Tommy Parks – Harris County High School
• Class 6A- Al Hughes- Lovejoy High School
• Warrick Dunn Captain in the Community of the Year Award – Tsali Bentley – Union County High School
• Lifetime Achievement Award – Ray Lamb – Commerce High School

The Warrick Dunn Captain in the Community of the Year Award recognized an outstanding varsity high school football student-athlete in the state of Georgia that demonstrated strong leadership skills both on and off the field. The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to the coach who has significantly impacted high school football in the state of Georgia.

During the spring of 2013, Coach Smith and his Falcons staff will host a special football clinic for high school coaches at the club’s state-of-the-art training facility in Flowery Branch, Ga.

Also On Atlanta Daily World:
comments – Add Yours