Atlanta City Council Statement on the Passing of Winston Minor

Atlanta City Council Statement on the Passing of Winston Minor

The Atlanta City Council released the following statement after the passing of former Atlanta Fire Rescue Department Chief Winston Minor:

“Winston Minor was a respected and admired pillar of Atlanta. As fire chief, he served with great professionalism and cared deeply about the welfare of the people of our city. He had a strong influence on those around him and his leadership will continue to live on in the department and the community. We offer our deep gratitude and appreciation for his service and extend our condolences to his family, friends, and the members of Atlanta Fire Rescue as we mourn his loss.”

The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Antonio Brown; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

To learn more about the Atlanta City Council, please visit For the latest updates, follow the Atlanta City Council on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.


From the Web