Atlanta City Council President Felicia A. Moore initiates response plan for coronavirus

Following recent reports regarding the coronavirus (COVID-19) and its potential public impact, Council President Felicia A. Moore has charged the Council Staff Director and Municipal Clerk to develop standard operating procedures in response to potential procedural disruptions that could occur as result of the virus and other emergency incidences.
The response initiative will address the following:
  • Remote meetings, including public comments and voting on legislation
  • Teleworking capabilities for Council staff
  • Notice of regularly scheduled and special called meetings, work sessions and public hearings
  • Training regarding intranet, remote phone and email access
  • Communications plan for staff and the public regarding off-site procedures
“We must ensure that the Council remains active and accessible during any situation which may disrupt the normal operations of City Hall,” Council President Moore said. “It is in the best interest of the city that we approach this concern proactively, executing an efficient and effective plan.”
A link to Council President Moore’s comments during Committee on Council on Monday, March 2 is available here. In addition, correspondence distributed to all members of Council and its divisions can be accessed here.
Atlanta City Council
The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.
The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Antonio Brown; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

About Post Author


From the Web

Skip to content
Verified by MonsterInsights