On the Agenda: Atlanta City Council Significant Legislative Items for Monday, Feb. 17

ATLANTA — The Atlanta City Council will consider legislation Monday prohibiting landlords from refusing to rent or sell a home based on the applicant’s source of income, including denying the acceptance of government vouchers (Legislative Reference No. 20-O-1155). Vouchers aid families and individuals in being able to obtain affordable housing.
The Council will also consider legislation encouraging the Georgia General Assembly to prohibit landlords statewide from refusing to accept subsidized housing vouchers as supplemental rental income (Legislative Reference No. 20-R-3291).
Other items on Monday’s agenda include:
• An ordinance authorizing the Department of City Planning to establish a building permit fee waiver program available to private sector entities pursuing an affordable housing development or development that includes a defined number of units set aside as affordable housing (Legislative Reference No. 20-O-1028).
• An ordinance authorizing the City of Atlanta and Invest Atlanta to prioritize funding received via Community Development Block Grants and other sources, financial incentives, and financing options for development projects that include affordable housing within Atlanta for the next five years (Legislative Reference No. 20-O-1156). The Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program is a federally funded grant that focuses on benefiting low- to moderate-income people by providing resources for livable neighborhoods, economic empowerment, and decent housing.
Members of the Council will present proclamations in recognition of ZuCot Gallery, Reverend Eric Terrell, SCLC /W.O.M.E.N Inc., the American Heart Association, and Georgia Arbor Day.
The Atlanta City Council will convene Monday, Feb. 17 at 1 p.m. in the Council Chamber at Atlanta City Hall, 55 Trinity Avenue SW.
About Atlanta City Council
The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Antonio Brown; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.
To learn more about the Atlanta City Council, please visit http://citycouncil.atlantaga.gov/For the latest updates, follow the Atlanta City Council on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.


From the Web