DTE Energy executive David L. Johnson honored by American Association of Blacks in Energy

David L. Johnson, Vice President, Marketing & Customer Service
David L. Johnson, Vice President, Marketing & Customer Service

David L. Johnson, vice president of Customer Service and Marketing for DTE Energy, has received the Lewis H. Latimer Award presented by the American Association of Blacks in Energy, (AABE) Michigan chapter.

Johnson was honored for demonstrating outstanding achievement, personal involvement and professional leadership in the energy-related field.

He was recognized during AABE’s 15th annual Lewis H. Latimer Awards program named after the famed African American inventor. AABE also awarded scholarships to top-performing minority high school students who are planning careers in the science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) fields. “I’m proud to be honored by AABE, which has a tremendous impact on our industry,” Johnson said. “Through initiatives such as the Lewis H. Latimer Scholarship Awards, AABE is investing in the future engineers, vice presidents and CEOs of our state and giving back to the community along the way.”

Johnson leads the strategy and operations for customer service and satisfaction, including billing and meter reading services, collections and theft, contact center operations, overall customer experience, business and residential customer marketing and customer research.

“The purpose of the Lewis H. Latimer dinner is to honor a person in the energy industry, as well as to provide scholarships to students pursuing education in the STEM field,” said Carla Walker-Miller, AABE’s newly elected president. “David, as a vice president of DTE Energy, is an excellent honoree as he represents what can be accomplished through hard work, dedication and compassion in the community.”

The Lewis H. Latimer Awards program was held May 19 at the Detroit Marriott. Michael A. Finney, senior advisor for Economic Growth, was the keynote speaker. Alexis Wiley, chief of staff for the city of Detroit, served as mistress of ceremony.


From the Web