Today the NAACP announced the full list of awardees for the first annual Medgar W. Evers Medal of Freedom Awards. The awards are granted to individuals or groups in each of the NAACP’s seven regions who have dedicated their lives and legacies to the cause of civil and human rights.

“These winners are the lifeblood of their communities and of this great Association,” stated NAACP President and CEO Benjamin Todd Jealous. “Like Medgar Evers, they are fearlessly on the front line in the fight for justice and equality. Most importantly, they are each inspiring new generations of civil and human rights leaders to carry on their legacy.”

The awardees are:

Region 1 (AK, AZ, CA, HI, ID, NV, OR, UT, WA, Korea, Japan)
Reverend Amos Brown, San Francisco NAACP President, NAACP Board Member

Region 2 (CT, DE, ME, MA, MS, NH, NJ, NY, PA, RI, VT, Europe)
Dr. Hazel Dukes, New York NAACP State Conference President, NAACP Board Member

Region 3 (IL, IN, KY, MI, OH, WV, WI)
William M. Cofield, NAACP Board Member

Region 4 (IV: CO, IA, KS, MN, MO, MT, NE, ND, SD, WY)
Norman Seay, Executive Committee member of the St. Louis City NAACP

Region 5 (AL, FL, GA, MS, NC, SC, TN)
Dr. Warner Dickerson, Memphis NAACP President

Region 6 (AR, LA, OK, NM, TX)
Alfred Rucks, NAACP Board Member

Region 7 (DC, MD, VA)
Gerald Stansbury, Maryland NAACP State Conference President

The Medgar W. Evers Medal of Freedom “honors an individual or group who has demonstrated a lifetime of courage and laid the foundation for present and future leaders in the cause of civil and human rights.” The presentation of the inaugural award coincides with the 50th commemoration of the assassination of former NAACP Field Secretary Medgar W. Evers, who gave his life in the fight for voter empowerment, equality and justice.

Also On Atlanta Daily World:
comments – Add Yours