The Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) released its seeding and pairings for the 2013 SIAC Softball Championships, which will take place Thursday, April 18 through Saturday, April 20, at Gerald Matthews Sports Complex (1935 McDonough Road, Hampton, Ga., 30228).

The defending 2012 SIAC Softball Champions, Miles College, enter the tournament as the #1 seed from the Western Division, while Albany State University enters as the top seeded team from the East Division.

The Lady Bears finished the regular season with a 25-18 record overall and 22-2 record against SIAC opponents to claim the West Division title. The East Division Champions Albany State wrapped up the regular season also with a 22-2 record, while finishing the regular season 29-23 overall.

Both teams received first round byes in the opening round along with the #2 seed from the West Division, Stillman College, (21-17, 19-7 SIAC), and Claflin University, (27-13, 16-6), the #2 seed in the East Division.

Opening round games on Thursday will feature #4E Fort Valley State v. #5W LeMoyne-Owen College and #3W Kentucky State University v. #6E Paine College at 10 am, as well as #4W Tuskegee University v. #5E Benedict College and #3E Clark Atlanta University v. #6W Lane College at noon. Winners of the opening round games will advance to take on one of the top four seeds with the other teams moving to the loser’s bracket.

Also On Atlanta Daily World:
comments – Add Yours