The Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference released its 2013 SIAC Men’s and Women’s Tennis All-Conference Team as voted by the SIAC Tennis Coaches Association.

Stillman College junior Janguen Lee, who was voted as SIAC Men’s Tennis Player of the Year, leads the men’s team. Lee, a native of Soul, South Korea, dominated opponents during the regular season finishing with a conference best 12-1 record overall and a perfect 6-0 in SIAC matches in the No. 1 singles spot for the Tigers.. Lee also went perfect in the conference with his teammate David Torres in doubles at 6-0 during the regular season. The tandem were named to the All-SIAC First Team Doubles team as well.

Joining Lee on the All-SIAC First Team is another Stillman player, Luis Mendoza, followed by 2012 SIAC Player and Freshman of the Year Zibusiso Ndimande of Benedict College, Shane Latchman, also from Benedict, Morehouse College’s Noah Terry and Fort Valley State University’s James Nick Hernandez.

Joining the tandem of Lee and Torrez for All-SIAC First Team Doubles honors are Ndimande and Latchman of Benedict and Hernandez and Joshua Turner from Fort Valley State.

Freshman of the Year was awarded to Stillman’s Vladyslav Zhyrov, who went 8-3 overall and 5-0 in SIAC matches in his first season as the team’s No. 3 singles player, while Tigers head coach William Riley was awarded SIAC Men’s Coach of the Year after leading Stillman to a 19-2 overall and 12-0 record in the conference.

Headlining the list for the women’s team is SIAC Women’s Player of the Year Litia Godinet, also from Stillman College. A native of American
Samoa, Godinet finished the season 23-1 and 12-0 in the conference in route to claiming the top honors in the women’s division. As the team’s top singles player, she was the cornerstone of Stillman’s 23-1 team record this season. She also was named to the All-SIAC First Team Doubles Team, along with her teammate Veronika Kalugina.

Also selected to the women’s All-SIAC First team was Godinet’s teammate Nair Tolomeo, Glory Zhou of Benedict, Chloe Jean-Charles, also from Benedict, Brionne Bachus from Clark Atlanta University, and Gabriella Louis from Fort Valley State University.

Kim Bowen of Tuskegee was voted Freshman of the Year after a 6-5 overall record as the team’s top singles player for the Tigerettes,
while SIAC Women’s Coach of the Year was awarded to Clark Atlanta’s Autumn Williams, who led the Lady Panthers to a 10-1 record this season in the SIAC.

2013 SIAC Men’s Tennis All-Conference Team

Name Class Institution
Zibusiso Ndimade Sophomore Benedict College
Shane Latchman Sophomore Benedict College
Janguen Lee Junior Stillman College
Luis Mendoza Freshman Stillman College
Noah Terry Junior Morehouse College
James Nick Hernandez Junior Fort Valley State University

First Team Doubles
Names Institution
Zibusiso Ndimande & Shane Latchman Benedict College
Janguen Lee & David Torrez Stillman College
James Nick Hernandez & Joshua Turner Fort Valley State University

Second Team Singles
Name Class Institution
Giovanni Platter Junior Benedict College
Vladyslav Zhyrov Freshman Stillman College
Chris Hawthorne Junior Morehouse College
Kahai Hall Junior Morehouse College
Gabriel Byrd Senior Tuskegee University
Andrew Knight Sophomore Tuskegee University

Second Team Doubles
Names Institution
Kahai Hall & Jabez Beazer Morehouse College
Noah Terry & Chris Hawthorne Morehouse College
Gabriel Byrd & Andrew Knight Tuskegee University

Player of the Year: Janguen Lee, Stillman College
Freshman of the Year: Vladyslav Zhyrow, Stillman College
Coach of the Year: William Riley, Stillman College

2013 SIAC Women’s Tennis All-Conference Team

First Team Singles
Name Class Institution
Litia Godinet Junior Stillman College
Nair Tolomeo Freshman Stillman College
Chloe Jean-Charles Senior Benedict College
Glory Zhou Sophomore Benedict College
Brionne Bachus Junior Clark Atlanta
Gabriella Louis Sophomore Fort Valley State

First Team Doubles
Names Institution
Jessica Carswell & Belinda Camacho Benedict College
Litia Godinet & Veronika Kalugina Stillman College
Vonnica Boyogueno & Brionne Bachus Clark Atlanta University

Second Team Singles
Name Class Institution
Jessica Carswell Senior Benedict College
Asia Boyd Junior Clark Atlanta University
Vanessa Jean-Baptist Sophomore Clark Atlanta University
Reanah Kellogg Senior Albany State University
Yonelle Aromin Junior Fort Valley State University
Angela Corredor Freshman Stillman College

Second Team Doubles
Names Institution
Asia Boyd & Ivory Conley Clark Atlanta University
Vanessa Bolar & Naima Simpkins Fort Valley State University
Nair Tolomeo & Angela Corredor Stillman College

SIAC Women’s Player of the Year: Litia Godinet, Stillman College
SIAC Freshman of the Year: Kim Brown, Tuskegee University
SIAC Coach of the Year: Autumn Williams, Clark Atlanta University

SIAC Men’s All-Academic Team

Name Class Major GPA Institution
Felipe Farias Senior Business 4.0 Stillman College
Shane Latchman Sophomore Computer Engineering 3.95 Benedict College
Santiago Robles Sophomore Business 3.93 Stillman College
Alexander Zobec Senior Business 3.90 Stillman College
Jelffrey Farias Junior Business 3.85 Stillman College
Zibusiso Ndimande Sophomore Computer Engineering 3.77 Benedict College

SIAC Men’s Tennis All-Academic Team Champion: Stillman College

SIAC Women’s All-Academic Team

Name Class Major GPA Institution
Morgan Moore Sophomore Biology 4.0 Lane College
Akili Smith-Washington Sophomore 4.0 Tuskegee University
Glory Zhou Junior Environmental Health Science 3.95 Benedict College
Christian Patterson Junior 3.95 Tuskegee University
Maria Saddler Senior Tuskegee 3.92 Tuskegee University
Jessica Carswell Senior Biology 3.91 Benedict College

SIAC Women’s Tennis All-Academic Team Champion: Benedict College

Also On Atlanta Daily World:
comments – Add Yours