ITC’s Charter Day Celebration and Awards Gala Announced


The annual observance of the founding of the ecumenical consortium of six different seminaries chartered as The Interdenominational Theological Center (ITC) in 1958 will be held on Thursday, April 18.

During the Charter Day and James H. Costen Awards Gala at 7 p.m. at the Atlanta Marriott Marquis, 11 honorees will receive ITC’s “Tribute to Excellence.”

The 2013 honorees are:

Religion, Dr. Teresa Hairston, founder and publisher of Gospel Today Magazine, as well as founder and chair of the Gospel Heritage Foundation; Education, Dr. Larry Earvin, president of Huston-Tillotson College in Austin, Texas;

2 Business Award Recipients – John Deushane, president and general manager of WXIA/WATL, Atlanta, and Eddie Meyers,
regional president, PNC Bank Georgia;

Government, the Hon. Betty Thompson, Representative of District 72 of the St. Louis District in the Missouri House of Representatives;

Civic and Community Affairs Award, Monica Kaufman Pearson, retired news anchor and journalist, WSB-TV;

Inspiration Award, Dr. Betty Clark, retired principal, Atlanta Public Schools;

Lifetime Service Award, Elizabeth Littlejohn, former vice president of Financial and Administrative Services at ITC;

The Travelin’ Shoes Award, Lisa Williams, founder of Living Water for Girls;

The Arts and Entertainment Award, Benjamin BeBe Winans, Grammy Award winning inspirational, R&B, and gospel artist;

The Visionary Award, Wellington Swindall (posthumously).

For more information about the 55th Charter Day and 16th James H. Costen Awards Gala, go to or call 404-527-7718.

About Post Author


From the Web

Skip to content
Verified by MonsterInsights