Keke Palmer unsung hero awards

Actress KeKe Palmer, a Ford Freedom Youth Ambassador, will be in attendance Friday night as the Ford Motor Company hosts the Ford Freedom Unsung Awards Ceremony.

The ceremony will take place from 8 p.m. until 9 p.m. at Georgia Tech’s Historic Academy of Medicine, 875 West Peachtree Street, NW, Atlanta, Ga. 30309.

Ford Freedom Unsung salutes and honors everyday people and organizations that have positively impacted communities and whose achievements serve to enlighten and inspire others.

“Ford is proud to honor the contributions of others who go above and beyond to positively impact communities, but are often not recognized for what they do,” said Pamela Alexander, director of Community Development, Ford Motor Company Fund.

“Whether it is a mother who tutors children,” Alexander continued, “a brother who sacrificed years serving his country, a neighbor who leads a nonprofit organization or a father who dedicated his life to serving the homeless, unsung heroes surround us every day and look for nothing in return.”

Ford is launching this new national program in Atlanta as part of its ongoing commitment to honor distinguished Americans who dedicate their lives to improving the community where they live and the world at large. Award categories include Community, Education, Military, Youth and Organization.

“The National Center for Civil and Human Rights is honored to partner with the Ford Motor Company in presenting these awards to 25 very deserving persons,” said Deborah J. Richardson, Executive Vice President, National Center for Civil and Human Rights. “What we have learned from studying the American Civil Rights Movement and human rights movements across the globe is that every day people who decide to do extraordinary things do indeed change the world. These are change agents in our own backyard and we thank them for their service and commitment to the community.”

The 25 awards are given out in the categories of Community, Education, Youth, Organization ad Military.
Atlanta Edition awards will be given to:

Tracy Campbell
John “JT” Johnson
Christopher Leggett
Sheila Tenney
Lisa C. Williams

Ulester Douglas
Garry A. Harris
Allen E. Lee
Camille Russell Love
Alvetta Peterman Thomas

John M. Bailey, Jr.
Marcelite J. Harris
Johnny Miller
James Richard Morton
Garfield L. Peart

Sydney-Alyce Bourget
Nyomi Haynes
Cameron Harris
Alexus N. Means
Robin Okunowo

Atlanta Diaper Relief
Boys2Men Home & Sanctuary for Youth
Cool Girls, Inc.
Sisters … By Choice, Inc.
Zion Hill Community Development Center

Also On Atlanta Daily World:
comments – Add Yours