Gregory_Lee.jpgGregory Lee Elected as 19th President of National Association of Black
Journalists|- Errin Haines Elected Vice President of Print, Cindy George Elected Parliamentarian, Student
Representative Race Tied, Run-off Election in a Few Weeks –

(BLACK PR WIRE)–PHILADELPHIA–(BUSINESS WIRE)–The National Association of Black

Journalists (NABJ) announces that Gregory Lee, Jr. has been elected the 19th President of the


Lee, the Senior Assistant Sports Editor at The Boston Globe and the current NABJ Treasurer,

won the election with 294 votes, 57% of the vote, defeating opponent Deirdre Childress of The

Philadelphia Inquirer who received 168 votes. Charles Robinson of Maryland Public Television

received 50 votes.

Born in New Orleans, LA, Lee is the eldest of three children. The 37 year-old is the youngest

elected president of the 3,400 member organization. He has also worked for The Times-Picayune

and The Washington Post. During his career in NABJ Lee served for four years as the national

secretary and has also served an unprecedented four terms as chair of the Sports Journalism Task


The election results were announced at a 7:00 p.m. press conference yesterday following

the closing of the polls at the Philadelphia Convention Center, site of the 2011 NABJ Annual

Convention and Career Fair. 515 votes were cast by eligible NABJ members in this year’s election,

conducted online between June 3 and 5 p.m. yesterday.

“It is both a privilege and an honor to have been elected to lead NABJ and I stand ready to

continue to serve. There is a lot of work to be done,” Lee told a packed room at the Philadelphia

Convention Center in downtown Philadelphia once the election results were announced, joined by

his parents and brother. “I’m so very honored and humbled by this awesome responsibility that I

have with my team for the next two years,” said Lee.

A total of 13 board members were chosen by the membership to lead the organization for the

next two years. Board members elected in uncontested races include Treasurer-elect Keith Reed,

Secretary-elect Lisa Cox, Region III Director-elect Dedrick Russell, Region IV Director-elect AJ

Ross, Region VI Director-elect Michelle Fitzhugh-Craig and Associate Representative-elect Dawn

Angelique Roberts.

Winning elections in contested races were newly elected Vice President of Print Errin Haines

of The Associated Press defeating freelance reporter Denise Clay 280-209, and newly elected

Parliamentarian Cindy George of The Houston Chronicle, who defeated Ken Knight of The Tampa

Tribune by 10 votes, 244-234, with 37 abstentions.

The race for student representative resulted in a tie between Wesley Lowery of Ohio University,

and Marissa Evans of Marquette University, each receiving 69 votes. The student candidates will

have a week-long run-off election August 15-22.

Also On Atlanta Daily World:
comments – Add Yours