Footsteps Of Civil Rights Leaders Placed In Historic Site During Trumpet Awards



By Special to the Daily World
Footsteps of 10 new revered civil rights icons will be added to the International Civil Rights Walk of Fame during the 2011 Trumpet Awards events. This induction ceremony is scheduled for Friday,  Jan. 28, at 10 a.m. at the Martin Luther King, Jr. National Historic Site, National Park Service, located at 450 Auburn Ave.   The program preceding the induction ceremony will be held at the Ebenezer Baptist Church. The ceremonial host for this year’s occasion is Frank Ski with WVEE FM (V103) Radio. The program and unveiling of the footsteps are free and open to the public.

The 2011 honorees in this distinguished group include: Arthur Blank, James Brown, the Rev.  Dr. Gerald Durley, Bishop Neil C. Ellis, Leon Hall, Bishop Barbara King, Marc H. Morial, Mayor Carl Stokes, Congressman Louis Stokes and Henry “Hank” Thomas.

The International Civil Rights Walk of Fame was created in 2004 to give recognition to the foot soldiers of justice who sacrificed and struggled to make equality a reality for all.  This extraordinary display has become one of the most visited tourist attractions in the city of Atlanta and has enriched the heritage of the Civil Rights Movement.  The shoes used to create the footsteps will also be on display during the unveiling program.

The International Civil Rights Walk of Fame, now in its eighth year, is sponsored by the Trumpet Awards Foundation Inc., and was created and designed by Xernona Clayton, founder and executive producer of the renowned Trumpet Awards.

“This is a permanent testimony to those who have dedicated themselves to human progress. Many of the shoes we use in the display remain on exhibition within the Visitors Center for those who visit the King Complex,” Clayton said.

Congressman James E. Clyburn, Judge Damon J. Keith, the Rev.  Samuel Billy Kyles, National Newspaper Publishers Association, Eugene C. Patterson, the Rev. Albert Sampson, Rita Jackson Samuels, and Congresswoman Diane E. Watson were inducted in 2010.

The roll of  honorees is growing every year.

“We will continue to build upon this commemorative memorial to the civil rights struggle that depicts the tireless efforts and passionate concern of these determined individuals whose footsteps appear in this Walk of Fame,” said Clayton.


From the Web