Bush announces federal aid for several Illinois storm, flood rav

Today President Bush announced Individual Assistance for 14 Illinois counties that have experienced major flooding and storm damage.

Adams, Clark, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, Douglas, Edgar, Hancock, Henderson, Jasper, Lake, Lawrence, Mercer and Winnebago counties will all receive federal aid following a series of storms and flooding that caused major destruction. U.S. Senators Dick Durbin, D-Ill., and Barack Obama, D-Ill. praised the federal support. In a written statement, the Senators said the aid, “will give residents, families and businesses access to funding and services to help repair and replace damaged personal items, buildings and homes. Additionally, the state of Illinois will have access to additional resources for recovery.” According to the Federal Emergency Management Agency, Individual Assistance provides help to households for rent, repairs, replacement of home and personal goods up to a maximum of $ 28,800 per household. ______ Copyright 2008 Chicago Defender. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

About Post Author


From the Web

Skip to content
Verified by MonsterInsights